Links: Algerian Female Bloggers


I have shared in a previous post a list of the Algerian English blogs I knew. Today I am going to share links to another category, blogs owned by Algerian women. And as this category is bigger than the blogs written in English, I will only give links to the blogs I follow.

So here they are with no particular order.

Salima Ghezali is an Algerian journalist and you can read her editorials here. She doesn’t really have a blog but I am mentioning her because I consider her weekly audio editorials on Medi1 Radio as blog posts.

Ghania Mouffok is also a journalist. Unfortunately she is not what we can call an active blogger.

Nadia Leila Aissaoui works with Mediapart and owns this blog. She doesn’t seem to write a lot about Algeria.

Ayat Ghanem has two blogs. I admit I prefer this one to the other; I let you guess why.

I have read all and like most of loundja’s posts. But again, Algerian bloggers, males and females alike, do not post regularly.

Farah’s blog is relatively new and I tend to have a positive opinion on her writings.

Melissa Rahmouni blogs at ArabsThink and she has a personal blog dedicated to photography.

DZ-Chick’s blog is perhaps the most popular Algerian blog in English. Not surprising given its topics. One thing though, I don’t like most of the comments I read on there, well I do not read them anymore.

I don’t like the comments on another popular blog, JVA by Mina Namous. I don’t think I agree on much of what she says and I read it mainly for her writing skills.

Houda owns a nice blog. I cannot tell why but I do read all her posts… It’s not like it’s taking me hours anyway.

Baya Miloudis’ blog was good but it’s been long since her last post.

I like Faiza’s blog because of the strength and conviction she puts in her posts against imperialism and even the “Arab Spring”. If only she could leave that ugly Maktoobblog platform.

Djazairia also speaks of politics. I wonder why most females’ blogs are not into politics… She has a second blog.

Rym Mokhtari and Naouel Louerrad are cartoonists and their blogs are dedicated to their work.

BentAljazair and Oumelkhir, who used to comment here, had the blogs I liked most, but they seem to have stopped writing… publicly.

Patriots On Fire is also a female’s blog, partly, as algerianna is a co-blogger here.

I realise that making a selection is not an easy task and my list is too long already, but you can always use the comments section to share links to the Algerian female bloggers you like.

10 thoughts on “Links: Algerian Female Bloggers

  1. First, as you said Salima Ghezali can not be defined as a blogger. IMHO, she is on the top list of algerian journalists and on the top list of really independent and accurate observers and commentators of political life (or no life) in Algeria.

    I like loundja’s post but they are random.

    I like very much the most popular ones. When she talks about Algeria, Dz-chick depicts often very accurately what I call the real country. I don’t read the comments too. I like also JVA. Mina Namous posts pleasant texts. In contrast with Dz-Chick, i like the comments of her blog for many different reasons. Some are funny. But some are outraged by the writings describing the life of the algerian social minority the author belongs to. These comments are very interesting because they are symptomatic of the algerian inability to accept that different ideas and ways of life can coexist in Algeria. Some even deny her the right to name her blog “algéroise” since they feel her writings have a prescriptive characteristic.

    The question that your post could have looked deep into is : Do these female blogs have a difference with male ones?

    • I couldn’t agree more on Salima Ghezali.

      As to your comment about JVA, well many Algerians have a very well defined idea on what an Algerian is/should be. A “niff-less” Algerian cannot exist, just like a coward Algerian or… a libertarian Algerian. And Mina Namous should feel lucky, if her blog was named Jeune Vie Bougiote, I would have hacked it🙂 (just kidding)

      Your last question is interesting. In literature, I am usually able to guess whether the author of a novel is a male or a female, the style and the perspective being different. But on Algerian blogs… I can’t tell. Most males’ blogs I follow are political, and this is an exception on females’ blogs. So I’d need blogs with the same “topic” and then compare.
      What do you think?

  2. if her blog was named Jeune Vie Bougiote, I would have hacked it

    I am not surprised. What can you expect from all these puritan christian converts that swarm in Kabylie🙂

    What do you think?

    You pointed out the main difference. Generally, female blogs are not generally interested in politics and precisely in algerian politics.

    • Oh yes I frogot. It is not possible that a true Algerian, even Kabyle, could convert to Christianism… This is another given in the definition of the Algerian.

      A few weeks ago, I was in the bus, and a man with a big star of David on his chest came in. He was obviously after some trouble; during the journey from Porte Sarrasine to Daouadji, which was 30 minutes, he kept provoking by making silly/ignorant comments on Islam, Muslims, civilisation. I was surprised nobody reacted despite the fact some were holding Echourouk newspaper in their hands🙂

  3. Am surprised I don’t read most of the female blogs here regularly. I used to read Dz-chick’s blog quite often because I find it funny, but the comments as of late, sort of put me off. It never occurred to me to compare female and male blogs (algerian), that would be an interesting theme for a research project in sociology🙂

    As for me, I am going through a hibernation mode it seems. Lots of ideas for new posts, but writers’ block perhaps?

Leave a Reply

