Algeria’s local election


I had decided to not write about today’s local and regional elections in Algeria, and then I changed my mind. So here’s the only post I’ll write on this topic, even though its real objective is actually to share a few links with our readers.

I like the local elections because I don’t feel any guilt for not showing up as I am not entitled to vote given that I live outside Algeria. Other than this personal positive point, these elections are as useless as the national ones. And I can list at least three reasons:

  • APC and APW presidents have close to no power as they cannot do much without/against the will of the Walis and Chiefs of Dairas, who are the administration representatives in our centralised system.
  • Corruption, bribery and treachery are what characterise most of the APCs. Mediocrity and opportunism are significant characteristics as well.
  • Political change at the local level is possible but it is not effective without a global change since the whole system is rotten.

The president told us that last May’s legislative elections were as important as November 1st, 1954. Amara Benyounes said we would begin to see the change in two months time and here we are more than two months later and I am afraid I cannot see any change. A few days ago, Slimane Bakhlili, who joined Mohand Said’s party, explained why today’s elections are capital. The truth is all were lying, or just wrong, as all these elections are nothing but a remake of Carnaval fi Dechra. And all these politicians must try harder for the people understand things well and aim at higher standards, exactly like this woman who emailed Cheikh Chemseddine, Ennahar TV‘s official mufti.

I don’t know about you, but I only request from the mayor of Bejaia, or the wali or whoever can do something, to make Aamriw’s roundabout safer for pedestrians. And please make sure it is not submerged when it rains.

It looks like I’ve shared many links. Two more won’t harm. Here is a related song by Souad Massi.

5 thoughts on “Algeria’s local election

    • Hmm I thought you only cared about French and US elections😉
      I am currently staying in Korea and Japan and it happens that both countries will have their elections soon. Discussing with the people here, I feel not much separates us from them… I’ll try to be less demanding with our politicians!

      I read your post. It makes sense, the FLN structures it inherited from the one-party period (is it really over) are definitely a good asset. But I am not convinced it’s the decisive factor for its success. I think it’s more to have with why the others keep losing.

  1. Hi,
    I think that in the last two years the regime has adapted very quickly and in smart way by drawing the lessons from the previous upheavals that shook the region, and has successfully weathered down the winds of change by infusing gigantic sums of money – hundreds of billions of dollars- into a phony economy while keeping the usual cyclic spectacle of orchestrating these circus “elections” and assuring the big boys that their interest will never be put under question. In my opinion the president didn’t tell the truth and has proven -at least to me- to be part of the cabal -including the rotten political class – that is holding down its boot on the nation neck.
    I don’t know if this is true but my according to my observations from mid northern region it seems like as the people after long years of distress, have tacitly traded their liberty, any sense of individuality and the ability to forge their future in exchange for the moment’s passing weak stability and an unprecedented reliance on big government to provide every thing and for the exclusion from paying real taxes, resulting in a deep moral disintegration throughout society, disdain for the rule of law, fear, corruption and selfishness.

    I think the majority of the poeple are favoring prudence and the what they know. But we need to ask ourselves as a people what we want, and where do we want to go as a nation. And weather we want to assume the responsibility for our selves and with it accountably and real justice.

    • we need to ask ourselves as a people what we want, and where do we want to go as a nation.

      I am not even sure the people are willing to ask these questions, let alone coming up with an answer…

Leave a Reply

