We possess the power!


I said in a previous comment that what the Algerian leaders, or élite if you wish, should do was to give an ideal to the people, the young ones most especially. An ideal which they (the leaders and the people alike) would believe in and work together to achieve.

Defining such an ideal would push everyone to go forward, to improve and to work in the same direction. This ideal, which mustn’t be utopian, requires the leaders/élite to be genuine and honest. It also requires everyone to be clear on where we stand as individuals, a people and a country. And then of course the people must be given the means to try to achieve that ideal.

Many among the Algerians who comment on Echourouk or on YouTube videos seem to believe that we’re great as a people and a country. Others think we’re the worst people on Earth. Pride, nif, bitterness, and many other factors create and nurture these beliefs. But such misconceptions, disconnected from reality, are not doing us any good as they prevent us from moving/evolving. In one of his speeches, Malek Bennabi talked about how we, as Muslims, believe Islam is great; but he warned those Muslims who extrapolate from “Islam is great” to reach “we (Muslims) are great“. A false statement obviously… The same applies to those thinking we’re useless.

So yes, we possess the power. But can we bring it up?

While I can imagine relatively easily how an élite could convince the people of the ideal and make them achieve it, I admit I fail to see how believing in our today’s élite and leadership could make them better. I am afraid idealizing the human in them won’t do. They are ideliazing themselves already; does Bouteflika not think he’s the only man fit to lead the country? They are corrupt and they couldn’t care less about the people. And far from trying to get the best from the people, they are turning them into infants unable to think/live by themselves. Viktor Frankl died in 1997; I wonder what he would have said on this.

Below is an excerpt from the text written by Goethe and which was mentioned in the above video.

I have come to the frightening conclusion that I am the decisive element.  It is my personal approach that creates the climate.  It is my daily mood that makes the weather.

I possess tremendous power to make a life miserable or joyous.  I can be a tool of torture, or an instrument of inspiration.

I can humiliate or humor, hurt or heal.

In all situations, it is my response that decides whether a crisis will be escalated or de–escalated, and a person humanized or dehumanized.

If we treat people as they are, we make them worse.  If we treat people as they ought to be, we help them become what they are capable of becoming.

16 thoughts on “We possess the power!

  1. Non à l’injustice en Algérie, dénoncez !
    Je dédie cette page a tous les Algériens et toutes les Algériennes ayant connu ou vécu, au moins, une injustice dans leurs vie dans notre cher pays. Il est vrai que la bureaucratie en Algérie constitue une réelle menace à l’épanouissement et l’accomplissement de nos concitoyens et concitoyennes Algériens. Ne nous taisons plus ! Parlons et partageons nos expériences et histoires même si ça n’apportera aucun changement à la situation actuelle. Peut être un jour viendra ou quelqu’un d’influant, muni de patriotisme et de bonne volonté, nous écoutera et changera les choses pour un avenir meilleur.
    Je me nomme Charif Ben-boulaid, petit fils du martyr Mostefa Ben-Boulaid, et je suis fier de parler haut et fort de l’injustice qui ronge notre quotidien et nous laisse frustrés. C’est une gangrène et c’est notre réalité!
    A partir d’aujourd’hui (Dimanche 11 Décembre 2011), j’ai décidé de ne plus me taire et de dénoncer le vrai terrorisme qu’est la bureaucratie, les tracasseries administratives et l’excès de zèle de quelques responsables qui nous rendent la vie insupportable.
    Le vœu de notre gouvernement à vouloir faire respecter la loi est une responsabilité juste et respectable qui fait honneur à la gloire de notre pays et que nous admirons et saluons tous. Seulement certains hauts cadres de nos institutions n’hésitent pas à s’autoproclamer chefs suprêmes et représentants exclusifs du pouvoir exécutif en Algérie et nous sanctionne sans état d’âme.
    Moi, Charif Ben-Boulaid, dis non à cette injustice !
    Pourquoi ai-je choisi la date du 11 Décembre 2011 pour commencer à dénoncer activement?
    Cela peut sembler coïncider avec les événements du 11 Décembre 1960 qui dénonçaient le colonialisme autre fois, mais, en fait, le hasard fait bien les choses car ça pourrai aussi devenir un symbole de lutte contre l’injustice en Algérie, en mon raisonnement tout naïf mais engagé.
    Voici les faits :
    Aujourd’hui, j’ai compris réellement la douleur et la détresse que provoquent l’injustice et le non respect que ressentent mes frères et mes sœurs Algériens. Comme le fameux dicton populaire Algérien l’exprime si bien « Ma y hess bel Djemra ghir li afess ali’ha », il faut le vivre ou sentir pour le comprendre.
    Je me suis vu voir refuser l’entrée à l’épreuve finale du concours du Ministère des Affaires Etrangères pour les Secrétaires Diplomatiques qui est organisé par l’Ecole National de l’Administration à Hydra, Alger du 09 au 11 Décembre. Comme l’injustice toujours se passe avec des signes révélateurs, l’amphithéâtre, où normalement je devais passer l’épreuve de la langue Arabe, portait le nom de Mostefa BEN BOULAID (mon grand père). Quelle ironie !
    7 minutes de retard, et c’est toute une carrière qui est détruite. La mienne.
    J’ai vite compris qu’il fallait s’adresser au responsable du centre pour justifier ce petit retard qui malheureusement fût provoqué par les bouchons interminables suite aux blocages de routes et accès pour permettre aux délégations ministérielles et présidentielle de circuler en toute fluidité afin de commémorer les événements du 11 Décembre de 1960 . En tant que citoyen Algérien, et homme censé, je comprends parfaitement l’importance de ces mesures. Ce que je ne comprends pas c’est l’intolérance et le vœu de ne vouloir faciliter la tache à autrui par les responsables de l’ENA qui, autrefois, était un symbole de fierté qui brillait de part son excellence et sa réputation a former les jeunes Algériens ambitieux et rempli d’espoir pour mener et contribuer a mener notre pays vers un vrai développement , une vraie institution de choix et de qualité, quel gâchis.
    J’ai pu, tant bien que mal, trouver le bureau du responsable. C’était une femme (je ne mentionnerai pas de nom). Elle était la directrice de l’Ecole et supervisait le déroulement du concours. On a commencés à parler, en gens lettrés et civilisés, et avant que je puisse finir de justifier les 7 minutes de mon retard, j’ai constaté une rigueur et une intolérance aigue suite a ses propos qui m’ont vite invité à sortir et d’assumer la responsabilité, ce qui me rappela le personnage de Margaret Thatcher, qui, franchement, semble une enfant de cœur a coté de cette « si gentille » directrice. Elle justifiait ses propos en s’appuyant sur le cahier de charge qui effectivement confirmait ses dires.
    En manque d’idées et d’arguments et avec un sentiment de frustration, jamais senti au par avant, avais compris pourquoi les gens s’immolaient après une grande vexation. Heureusement pour moi que je suis croyant et plutôt combatif, j’ai repris mes esprits et pu saisir qu’elle voulait être plus royaliste que le roi ! Quelles sont ses raisons ? Peut être elle cherche à être promue ; peu être qu’il fallait que je sois un exemple ; ou bien elle doit afficher une agressivité pour survivre dans cet environnement dominé par les hommes ; est-ce un conflit de génération ; je dirai que peu être elle était, tout simplement, insensible a ma détresse et incapable de déceler dans quel état d’esprit j’étais. Vraiment dommage, Un autre BENBOULAID vient d’être sacrifié. O pauvre moi…
    La seule réponse que j’entendais encore et encore était « pourquoi n’êtes-vous pas venu comme tous les autres à temps ? ». Convainquant, certes, mais pas juste. Car je savais pertinemment que quelle que soit la nature de l’examen ou du concours, on accordait toujours une demi-heure aux candidats retardataires. Moi-même appliquant cela a mes étudiants et/candidats à l’université depuis plus de 7 ans. Honnêtement, je juge que mon avis est légitime et pertinent, car étant fruit de l’éducation Algérienne et modelé par les études qui ont été toutes suivies en Algérie, j’ai pu le constater a moult reprises.
    Partant d’un raisonnement très logique, l’examen le plus important dans le cursus d’un apprenant est, incontestablement, celui du baccalauréat. Pourquoi applique-t-on cette mesure a ce niveau d’étude mais pas pour un autre examens ou concours de la sorte. Il y a, comme dirais-je, un excès de zèle dans le comportement de certains responsables. Je ne cherche aucunement à faire capoter ou à annuler le concours, bien au contraire, je veux juste exprimer ma volonté à dénoncer certaines pratiques peu respectueuses de la loi en vigueur. Vous allez le constater prochainement après la publication des résultats sur le site du Ministère des Affaires Etrangères. http://www.mae.dz. Malheureusement aucune moyenne n’est affiché juste le nom des lauréats.
    Je ne cherche pas a me voir accepter ou recruté suite a des méthodes de favoritismes ou, comme disait autre fois mon oncle Abdelwahab assassiné et lui aussi doctorant, « Marifat Ben Ammis ». Rien de tout cela, j’aimerai juste voir un semblant de tolérance, de justice et surtout de respect.
    Pas de charité, non s’il vous plait ! Chaque individu connait ses capacités et ses limites, et je pense que je suis représentatif d’une génération qui à, plutôt, bien réussie en Algérie et qui en même temps à décidée de rester et de lutter pour un avenir meilleur. C’est une cause noble, a mon avis, et c’est mon devoir. J’en suis très conscient.
    Ce n’est pas les occasions et les opportunités qui manquent ailleurs car, juste à titre indicatif, en 2009 j’ai pu bénéficier d’une micro bourse pour une formation en management offerte par les Etats Unis d’Amérique pour une durée d’un mois suite a mon travail de recherche de Magistère et aussi grâce aux idées d’entreprenariat que j’ai proposé. Dieu merci, tout le monde sait que l’administration et surtout le pragmatisme Américain encourage les gens motivés et les preneurs d’initiatives et non les gens qui jouissent de certaines faveurs en termes de favoritisme et permissivités. J’espère que les candidats futurs ne passeront plus par le même calvaire. Pour moi, l’histoire s’arrête ici. J’entame mon trente cinquième printemps et que, ironiquement, la fonction publique a besoin de sang nouveau ce que je cautionne également.
    Encore merci chère directrice pour ce cadeau de fin d’année, et veuillez transmettre mes meilleurs vœux de « promotions » au Directeur Général de l’Ecole Nationale d’Administration Monsieur C. qui vous a bien soutenue a ne pas vouloir m’autoriser à passer la dernière épreuve. Et pourtant j’avais de grandes chances…
    P.S. Je tiens à publier prochainement mon brouillon et le rendre public afin que je sois évalué par les personnes qui savent apprécier les hommes a leurs justes valeurs. J’assume mes responsabilités.
    Charif Ben Boulaïd
    Maitre Assistant à l’Université de Batna
    Faculté de Lettres et Langues
    Département d’Anglais

    benboulaid@gmail.com
    benboulaid@univ-batna.dz

    http://www.ben-boulaid.com

    Mob : 0555 41 45 42
    Fax : 033 80 78 97
    Skype : ben-boulaid

    • Ecrivez et dénoncez, vous aurez au moins fait ce qu’il est humainement (facilement) possible de faire déjà… très peu dénoncent… c’est malheureusement devenu “Normal”
      https://vivalalgerie.wordpress.com/2011/11/12/normal/

      Le cauchemar des embouteillages à Alger a commencé il y a quelques années avec les travaux qui étaient censés désengorger la capitale. Aujourd’hui les travaux sont (normalement) finis, mais les embouteillages eux ont augmentés… cela devrait constituer une excuse, un argument, un justificatif tout à fait acceptable…. et inch’Allah Rabbi idjib el khir…

  2. Tu l’as dit Mnarvi : “This ideal, which mustn’t be utopian, requires the leaders/élite to be genuine and honest.”

    Ceux qui postent des commentaires sur Echourou(r)k ou Youtube, devraient d’abord arreter de commenter là-bas, pour espérer pouvoir (un jour peut-etre) être “les meilleurs, les plus intelligents, les plus forts, les plus intègres, les plus braves….”….

    Malek Bennabi talked about how we, as Muslims, believe Islam is great; but he warned those Muslims who extrapolate from “Islam is great” to reach “we (Muslims) are great“. A false statement obviously…
    L’Islam est grand certes, et les musulmans ont été grands, ils l’ont été par le passé, lorsqu’ils ont tenté d’être autant que possible, comme le Prophète (salla Allahou 3alih wa sallam). Lorsqu’on interrogea sa femme Aicha (radiya Allahou 3an’ha) au sujet du comportement du Prophète, elle rétorqua au questionneur : « Ne lis-tu donc pas le Coran ? » Il répondit : « Bien sûr que si. » Elle dit alors : « Le comportement du Messager d’Allah était le Coran. ».
    C’est sous cette condition que les musulmans peuvent devenir grands, sinon….

  3. There are so many good points in the previous inputs, in my opinion some are incomplete or not in the right context. However;
    Indeed we possess the power but we are not yet using it effectively, ‘El koudoua’ wouldn’t have to appear solely within the top, it has to be build up in every sector of our society, in every house village and city, then and only then it will flourish automatically at the top.

    ‘Kama takunu yuwala alaikum’

    If you ask can we use it effectively when we want, the answer is yes
    If you ask what preventing us to using it effectively, the answer is ourselves in the first place.

    My only remark to Charif BenBoulaid is; if I were you I would avoid mentioning a lot Ben-Boulaid as one of the greater martyrs of our noble war. There are so many martyrs having so many grandchildren, some are good and others evil, some are highly educated and others slightly ignorant, some are working hard to sue their own route and some are living with the heritage of their grandparents (I don’t mean specifically any one), Our martyrs had done their bit, and so we! We have to do our bit. Regardless of who is who!

    • I definitely agree with your statement, but frankly speaking, if we are indulgent with all unfair behaviours, we will loose the real sense of responsibility. Indeed lot of people died in Algeria for the Algerian cause and everyone has the right to claim the belongingness to the revolutionary family, which I vividly encourage!

      There is no different between all those who took the arms and fought against the French. But at least we might pay a little tribute to those who were leaders. Mostefa Ben Boulaid got everything to collaborate with the French but he did not. Though he could be one of the richest persons ever during the occupation. He simply preferred to sell all his estates and rise funds to buy weapons for the outbreak. Sincerely, it must be said for future generations. As you probably know, history is always written by winners, and peoples’ minds are driven in such direction to serve personal interest instead of the common one. Now with the new technologies of communications, leaders can’t understand what is happening. Too much information and interaction. No one can moderate such tool. Only truth rules!

      For decades, the history of my grandfather and his fellows have been ignored. Now we must act!

      Maybe our views are diverging, but I am pretty sure that we agree with the principles.

      Thanks again for your interest for sharing comments. I really appreciate. Also I am thankful to MnarviDZ who gave us that possibility.

      If you want to join the pledge, don’t hesitate to be part of the great family. We are not attempting to control peoples’ minds or decision but rather help for the common awareness.

      Here’s the link and thank you for your support if you help us with your skills:

      https://www.facebook.com/pages/Non-%C3%A0-linjustice-en-Alg%C3%A9rie-d%C3%A9noncez-Parlez/189146667846747

      Charif Ben Boulaid

      benboulaid@gmail.com
      Mob: 0555 41 45 42
      Skype: ben-boulaid
      http://www.ben-boulaid.com

  4. @ Charif;

    I am by chance Mohamed Cherif too; above that son of two Moujahidine who still alive, and I didn’t get any benefit from that, as I am not interesting too, I think we understand each other very well, as it’s in our blood, and we belong to the same heritage.
    You wouldn’t probably agree with me; if I say I am against FLN party not FLN Front which belongs to the whole Algerian nation, I do not agree with FNA who uses like FLN party revolutionary values for his own end needs, that values belong to the whole Algerian nation, I am against RCD/FSS just because they exploit the values of tamazighan for their own reason and interest, then again those values belong to the whole Algerian nation, I am against HMS/Islah/FIS/Nahda… just because they use religious values for their own benefits, Islam belongs to every Muslim on earth. In my opinion you are building up one of those similar.., the question now is; what’s the purpose? Why shall we play the same rules of the games, The idea of ‘Algeria is the milky Cow’, ‘ It’s now or never’, it’s over, we are in 2011 and the world has changed a lot, I am not better than any Algerian just because my parents are Moudjahidine. Let your actual skills, capabilities and background raise you up or down regardless of who is your grandfather, I believe you have got the potential to achieve but just do it in the proper way with pure competition.
    As intellects why shalln’t we think about new NPD (National Program of Development)…, for the benefit of Algerian nations, since Algeria is the only political party I recon.
    The title of ‘we possess the power‘, has attracted me and even inspired me, Algeria needs new players, new team, new ideas, new prospects, new framework, new concept obviously by conserving our common values for not to be exploited again by any one!
    Please feel free to correct me if I am wrong!

  5. Politics vs. Civil society

    Many are confused. “Shall we be together under the same banner or separate with our own manner”. Hard to prove your will or honesty to people. Because if you decide to keep silent you might be considered as a passive person. Being active won’t help you as well, from your point of view. Great dilemma!
    Reminds me a lesson I have learnt and admired in my childhood. Maybe some of us can recall it.
    It speaks about a father and a son travelling with a mule. Both of them on the beast chocked the inhabitants of the, going through, village. Then the father decided to walk and let his son on it, the second village has been outraged. He decided to ask his son to join him walking, third village laughed on their, supposedly, stupidity. At last both father and son jump over the mule to ride for the rest of the long trip. Last village inhabitants stoned them because they perceived their act as cruelty.

    No method or behaviour is to appeal to all audience!

    The only thing that matters most is our certainty of doing something good.

    Thanks for your point but, according to my thinking, the only example to be adopted is one’s will of changing and evolving positively. Like a football match, everyone has his/her own style and strategy to score. The real goal is achieving something noble that the majority accept and this is the principles of Democracy.

    That’s what I call a great interaction! Such debates I value most.

  6. Agreed; let’s summarise then to make this conversation beneficial, you want a new party under revolutionary family’s hat, after suffering from humiliation, neglect, injustice… etc. However, you are implicitly excluding those who are not, or who couldn’t prove they are, or no one bother about them that they are… it’s another long battle leads to a dead end. Have we got time for that?
    Bear in mind over decades, hundreds of thousands brains left the country and many remained within, because they suffered in the same way as you and even more, my only point to you is; it would be better to deal with them whatever their ancestry background.
    I am not totally fun of using nowadays modern communication tools to bake the bread outside the oven, or breeding fish out of water, having a good will is great, but it is not enough!
    Democracy means different things to different people at different levels, it depends of the context, and meanwhile it’s been said that the modern ways of communication are promoting democracy, which I partly agree about, but only if you are able to take control of the chaos (Elfitna) that may happen.

  7. yeah some families drew lots one of the brothers fought and the other stayed with the family
    you can ask your family some of them smuggled weapons and fed people in their houses

  8. Itafaka al arab an la yatafikou. This is an endless debate. Mohamed you think you are right. I think I’m right. Everyone think s/he’s right.

    Well, in reality. It’s not right, it’s not wrong, it’s just different. I think it’s not hard to understand.

    It’s a pleasure knowing you but I have to move on and make my objectives concrete.
    Cheers

  9. Good luck to you Charif, but remember to listen by the way to those who criticise you as much as to those who pleased you. I was expecting you to ask me what is your proposal for the dilemma I have exposed, but you didn’t, you preferred to walk away from this conversation, probably this not the right time to carry on…
    Just be a good listener and good luck to you!

    • @Mohamed Cherif,

      It’s not about my will to ignore the critics but concerning the fact that I won’t be able to answer to all posts since I’m planning to go on vacation with my wife and three kids. We mustn’t be distracted and forget the essential things in our life.

      I’ll reply to all post starting from the 3rd of January 2012.

      Sorry for the inconvenience.

      Happy Holidays and Happy New Year

      Charif

    • Yakhi hala! I was for once za3ma trying to create hope and you had to make this bold statement and ruin the whole thing. But even so, the power of incompetence might lead us somewhere 🙂

  10. Pingback: Getting to Know You: Pirates, Cave Art and Politics in Algeria | The Global ReadHer

Leave a Reply

